New Comprehensive Rural Credit Scheme (NCRCS)


General Information

This scheme is an interest subsidy and credit guarantee scheme which is funded by the Government of Sri Lanka.

Implementation of Scheme

Participating Financial Institutions (PFIs) mentioned below will release sub-loans to the eligible beneficiaries and claim the interest subsidy from the Central Bank of Sri Lanka (CBSL) as per time frame given by the CBSL. This scheme is implemented all Island.

Eligible Borrowers

Farmers (with a land for cultivation)

Eligible Crops

(a) 34 crops:

Paddy, Chillies, Onion, Cowpea, Green Gram, Black Gram, Soya beans, Kurakkan, Maize, Ground Nut, Gingelly, Sun Flower, Potato, Sweet Potato, Manioc, Kiri Ala, Brinjal, Ladies fingers, Beet Root, Beans, Cabbage, Carrot, Capsicum, Tomato, Leeks, Radish, Knoh Khol, Luffa, Bitter Gourd, Snake Gourd, Pumpkin, Ginger, Sugarcane, Turmeric

(b) Home gardening and nurseries

Maximum Loan Amount Per Acre

(a) For 34 crops*:  Rs. 756,000/-
(b) Home Gardening:  Rs.100,000/-
(c) Nurseries: Rs. 500,000/-

* varies depending on the crop

Rate of Interest and Repayment Period

- 8 per cent per annum (8% p.a.)
- For 33 crops including home gardening: 270 days
Note: 365 days for sugarcane

Participating Financial Institutions

Bank of Ceylon, Peoples Bank, Regional Development Bank, Hatton National Bank PLC, Commercial Bank PLC, Union Bank PLC, Seylan Bank PLC, Sampath Bank PLC, Sanasa Development Bank Ltd, NDB Bank PLC, DFCC Bank PLC, HDFC Bank PLC, Cargills Bank Ltd

For Clarifications and Information

Regional Development Department of the CBSL (Tel: 011 2477477/ 011 2477484/011 2477015/011 2477286), Regional Offices of the CBSL or PFIs