



Issued By	Communications Department
Date	2023.09.21

Governing Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka

The newly established Governing Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka, constituted under the provisions of the recently promulgated Central Bank Act No. 16 of 2023, was held today, the 21st of September 2023, at the Board Room of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka.

The Newly established Governing Board, succeeds the Monetary Board that functioned previously, under the provisions of the Monetary Law Act (MLA).

Today's meeting of the new Governing Board of the Central Bank, was held, with the participation of the following members :-

- a) Dr. Nandalal Weerasinghe, Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka, as the Chairman,
- b) Mr. Sanjeeva Jayawardena, President's Counsel, who was previously, a member of the Monetary Board as well,
- c) Mr. Nihal Fonseka, who also was previously, a member of the Monetary Board,
- d) Dr. Ravi Ratnayake,
- e) Mr. Anushka Wijesingha.

Governor Weerasinghe welcomed Mr. Sanjeeva Jayawardena PC, Mr. Nihal Fonseka, Dr. Ravi Ratnayake and Mr. Anushka Wijesingha, to the new Governing Board.

These members of the newly Constituted Governing Board, will also be members of the Newly Established Monetary Policy Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka, as well. The Monetary Policy Board will convene shortly, for its very first meeting.