

Communications Department

30, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Colombo 01, Sri Lanka.

Tel: 2477424, 2477423, 2477311

Fax: 2346257, 2477739

E-mail: dcommunications@cbsl.lk, communications@cbsl.lk

Web: www.cbsl.gov.lk

Press Release



Currency Department

17 November 2014

The Central Bank issues a new series of Rs. 10 coins to portray 25 Administrative Districts of Sri Lanka

The Central Bank today issues a new series of 25 coins of Rs 10 denomination in order to recognize and portray unique characteristics and/or iconic landmarks and/or special features of each administrative district of Sri Lanka.

The first set of coins is to be presented by the Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka, Mr Ajith Nivard Cabraal to His Excellency the President Mahinda Rajapaksa on 17th November 2014.

After the presentation of the coins to His Excellency the President, the new coins would be released via the banks and the Central Bank Provincial Offices for circulation.

Three collector items, i.e., a coffee table book, coin packs and coin cards, are available for sale at the Economic History Museum, No.54 Chatham Street, Colombo 1 and the Central Bank Provincial Offices at Anuradhapura, Matara, Matale, Trincomalee and Jaffna.