

ශී ලංකා මත බැංකුව இலங்கை மத்திய வங்கி CENTRAL BANK OF SRI LANKA

Communications Department 30, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Colombo 01, Sri Lanka. Tel : 2477424, 2477423, 2477311 Fax: 2346257, 2477739 E-mail: dcommunications@cbsl.lk, communications@cbsl.lk Web: <u>www.cbsl.gov.lk</u>

Press Release



Currency Department 08 November 2013

Issue of a Commemorative Note to Mark the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting -Sri Lanka

The Central Bank of Sri Lanka will issue a commemorative note in the denomination of Rupees 500 to mark the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in Sri Lanka from 15th to 17th November 2013. This is the 3rd Commemorative note that is being issued, by the Central Bank.

The size, colour and the security features of the Commemorative note are same as in the current circulating Rs. 500 note in the same series with the following changes only.

On the front of the note: (i) CHOGM 2013 Sri Lanka logo in single purple colour appearing at the lower left corner of the note replacing the butterfly of the currently circulating Rs. 500 note; (ii) A security feature of an additional watermark by adding a design around the electrotype vertical numerals 500, to differentiate the CHOGM commemorative note from the currently circulating Rs. 500 note; (iii) Date on note: 2013.11.15. On the back of the note: the same images will remain as in the present Rs. 500 note. A quantity of 5 million notes will be issued and the serial numbers of the notes will be from T/51 000001- T/55 1000000.

The note will be legal tender in Sri Lanka for the payment of any amount and will be a liability of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka whilst in circulation.

The first note will be issued to His Excellency, President Mahinda Rajapaksa, by the Governor of the Central Bank, Ajith Nivard Cabraal.

The commemorative notes will be issued through the licensed commercial banks, commencing 15.11.2013. At the same time, a limited number of notes with the early serial numbers, in an attractive folder will be sold at a price of Rs. 800 each at the Economic History Museum, at No. 54 Chatham Street, Colombo 1, and the Central Bank Provincial Offices at Anuradhapura, Jaffna, Matale, Matara, and Trincomalee.

For further details contact the Currency Department on 0112477014, 0112477364.

Superintendent Currency Department Central Bank of Sri Lanka No. 30, Janadhipathi Mawatha Colombo 1