Notice to the Public

The Central Bank of Sri Lanka plans to exchange currency notes through the existing Public Coin Counter at the ground floor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka, No. 30, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Colombo 01 with effect from 1st of August 2019.



Opening Days

Wednesday and Thursday except public and bank holidays

Opening Hours

9.00 a.m. to 11.00 a.m.

Minimum amount of notes Issue per person

One Packet of 100 notes from any denomination (Rs.20/-, Rs.50/-, Rs.100/-, Rs.500/-, Rs.1000/-)

Further, it has been revealed that a considerable volume of unusable Rs.10 notes are in the circulation as per the Central Bank data. Therefore, the public is hereby requested to exchange unusable Rs.10 notes from the nearest branch of any Licensed Commercial Bank or from the Damage Notes Exchange Counter at the Head Office building of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka.

The Damage Notes Exchange Counter at the Head Office building of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka is opened on every weekday from 9.00 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. except public and bank holidays.

Keep currency note clean and use them carefully

